Wednesday, May 23, 2007

Barnwell and Peeples remain perfect

Barnwell and Peeples remain perfect

By Matthew J. Sullivan - Eureka, CA

Another night of racing at Redwood Acres Raceway, another main event victory for sportsman driver Brandon Barnwell and thunder roadster ace Paul Peeples, Jr. In a story which had already been told twice this season, both drivers resumed their winning ways this past Saturday night in dominating fashion. Another driver who made his main event victory look easy was Orion Mosher, winning the limited street stock main event giving him two in a row. Mini stock winner Brian Murrell and real stock winner Barry Barnwell appeared to have more difficult tasks than their fellow main event winners, but both were able to score close wins.

Fast time for the limited street stock division on this night was set by Orion Mosher with a 17.510 mark. Mosher won the dash, while the heat race saw the return of former pure stock and sportsman champ Otis Stabler who took the win closely followed by Mosher and Trevor Miller. The 15 lap main event was almost over as quickly as it started. By lap two, Mosher moved from the back of the grid to the second position. Mosher then maneuvered his way by the leader Duane Mayo on the third lap and never looked back. By the time Miller and Stabler made their way by Mayo, Mosher was nearly a straightaway ahead. At the race’s conclusion it was Mosher the winner followed by Miller, Stabler, Scott Lyons and Stan Young.

18.793 was the quick lap set by Jason Shaha for the mini stock cars. Brian Murrell won the trophy dash but Shaha took the win in the heat race. The mini stock main proved to be the closest finish of the night. Early on, Scott Baker took the lead and stretched out to 20 car lengths or so over second position. Murrell and Shaha methodically worked their way to the front and as the laps wound down, they began to close on Baker. With six laps left, the duo had caught Baker and began to have a real race with him. With three laps remaining, Shaha moved outside of Murrell to pass and tried to get by Baker. In turn one, Baker got loose getting into Shaha and allowing Murrell to get by both to take the lead. Shaha would be right on Murrell’s bumper, but that’s as close as he would get to winning as Murrell took the victory. Baker was third, Glenn Bernald fourth and Stacy Minnick fifth.

Barry Barnwell was quickest in real stock qualifying setting a 19.585 lap. Barnwell won the dash while Bill Middleton and Steve Kimberling won their respective heat races. Chad Grammer gained the early advantage in the 25 lap main event and pulled away from the field. By lap nine though, Barnwell had moved his car into the second position. After 11 laps of catching up to do, Barnwell and Grammer really began to make a race for the lead position. Barnwell didn’t take long to strike, moving by Grammar to take the lead with four laps remaining. With Barnwell pulling away, Grammer had to battle Marvin Savage for second, eventually losing that position. At the finish line, Barnwell was the victor over Savage, Grammer, Kimberling and Middleton.

For the third straight race of the 2007 season, Paul Peeples, Jr. set fast time with a 17.021 lap time. Peeples took the dash victory while Randy Olson and Bill O’Neill won the two heat races. Early on in the 30 lap feature, Mike Ward looked to be the man to beat. However, as David Henderson, Peeples and Olson freight-trained their way from the back to the front, it seemed apparent that Ward would have his hands full holding off those three drivers. Peeples made a move by Henderson on the thirteenth lap for the second position. On lap 14, Peeples quickly made his way past Ward to take the lead. Henderson and Olson would follow Peeples into second and third, however the closest both would come to taking the lead would be after a lap 17 restart. That wasn’t enough though for either driver as Peeples comfortably held command and took the win over Henderson, Olson, Ward and Leroy Marsh, Jr.

Brandon Barnwell set the fast lap for the sportsman division with a 16.751 time. Barnwell notched the win in the trophy dash while North State Challenge Series driver Luke Hall made a rare appearance and won the heat race. Early on in the 30 lap feature, it appeared as if there would be a new winner in the sportsman division in 2007 as Angelo Marcelli held the early lead. However, Barnwell made sure that any of those ideas were quickly put to rest. On lap six he moved outside of Marcelli to take the lead. While Barnwell walked away from the competition, the best racing proved to be from Hall who methodically moved his way past each driver, finally making it to second on lap 20. Hall seemed to have the faster car, but Barnwell’s lead proved to be insurmountable as he took the win. Marcelli finished third while Aaron Byers and Lissa Uselton rounded out the top five finishers.

The next race at the Acres is June 2nd. As always, drivers in the five local divisions will be back to provide more of the same action that’s been seen so far in 2007.

Race Results
Limited Street Stocks
Fast Time: Orion Mosher 17.510
Dash: Mosher, Trevor Miller, Duane Mayo, Scott Lyons
Heat: Otis Stabler, Mosher, Miller, Stan Young, Lyons, Mayo
Main: Mosher, Miller, Stabler, Lyons, Young, Mayo, Romeo Venza

Mini Stocks
Fast Time: Jason Shaha 18.793
Dash: Bryan Murrell, Byron McIntosh, Shaha, Max Capps
Heat: Shaha, Scott Baker, Murrell, Glenn Bernald, Capps, By. McIntosh, Brian McIntosh, Stacy Minnick
Main: Murrell, Shaha, Baker, Bernald, Minnick, Capps, By. McIntosh, Br. McIntosh

Real Stocks
Fast Time: Barry Barnwell 19.585
Dash: Barnwell, Ryan Peeples, Marvin Savage, Bill Middleton
Heat 1: Middleton, Barnwell, Ray Robinson, Peeples, Troy Wood, Chad Grammer, Mark Mullan
Heat 2: Steve Kimberling, Jim Redd, Savage, Ray DeMello, Mike Cataldi, Jim Bailey, Rick Stone
Main: Barnwell, Savage, Grammer, Kimberling, Middleton, DeMello, Nick Green, Peeples, Wood, Mulla, Cataldi, Robinson, Redd, Stone

Thunder Roadsters
Fast Time: Paul Peeples, Jr. 17.021
Dash: Peeples, Randy Olson, David Henderson, Ron Borges
Heat 1: Olson, Peeples, Leroy Marsh, Jr., Henderson, Mic Moulton, Borges, Jay Bahner, Bill Bradbury, Thomas Payne, Ray Elliott
Heat 2: Bill O’Neill, Dave McMurray, Mike Ward, Donn Cole, Gehry Foster, Bruce Ziemer, Belinda Ward
Main: Peeples, Henderson, Olson, M. Ward, Marsh, Foster, Elliott, Ziemer, Bahner, Borges, Moulton, O’Neill, McMurray, Cole, Payne, Bradbury, B. Ward

Fast Time: Brandon Barnwell 16.751
Dash: Barnwell, Luke Hall, Donnie Brown, Aaron Byers
Heat: Hall, Angelo Marcelli, Larry Pries, Rick Fox, Barnwell, Brown, Joe Bonomini, Lissa Uselton, Mike Bourbon, Byers
Main: Barnwell, Hall, Marcelli, Byers, Uselton, Fox, Pries, Bonomini, Bourbon, Brown.

No comments: