Sunday, June 7, 2009

Henderson notches fourth win, Peterson sneaks his first

Henderson notches fourth win, Peterson sneaks his first

By Matthew J. Sullivan

It was an exceptionally quick night of racing this past Saturday night at Redwood Acres Raceway. The events started at 6:30 in the evening and it was just before 9:00 when fans were filing out of the grandstands following the final checkered flag. Unfortunately, part of that was due to a low car count in all of the divisions on the night, but also there were not any serious incidents that ended up causing any on-track cleanup.

Kenny Demello and Stan Young were the only two drivers in the limited street stocks to make a qualifying attempt and unfortunately there were no races for the division. The mini stocks had only five cars show up. Craig Baker won the trophy dash and narrowly beat Brian McIntosh to the line in the heat race. McIntosh and Baker dueled again in the 10-lap main event. Baker looked to have the better car, but got loose in the second turn with a few laps left and spun. McIntosh was able to cruise to his first main event victory of the season ahead of Scott Baker, Steve Smith and Norm Carmichael, while Craig Baker finished fifth.

Jim Redd held off Casey Mitchell, Ryan Walters and Pat Conway to win the real stock trophy dash. Ryan Robinson took the heat race victory ahead of Mitchell, Dustin Walters, Ryan Walters and Roger Linn. The action kicked off right at the get-go of the 15 lap main event. A huge jam-up between several cars ended up giving Mitchell the lead and a huge margin over the rest of the pack. As he has done several times this year, Ryan Walters maneuvered his way through the field and to second position in only a few laps. With two laps to go, Walters used the low line to get past Mitchell for the lead. Walters crossed the finish line first with Mitchell second, Dustin Walters third, Robinson fourth and Redd fifth.

Carrie Cook won the roadrunner dash ahead of Oscar Koskinen, Charlie Anderson and Jimmy Murray. A last lap incident involving Murray and Anderson ended up damaging Murray’s car enough to where he was unable to race in the main event. Bill Snow was able to take the win over Cook, Koskinen, Nick Bundy and Murray. Bundy returned to the form he had shown in the first four events of the season as he took the lead early on in the main event and then held off Koskinen to take the victory. Eric Mendes ended up third ahead of Cook and Snow.

The sportsman trophy dash was won by Dennis Delbiaggio over Angelo Marcelli, Joe McDonald and Larry Pries. Jerry Peterson took the dash win over McDonald, Ken Hallis, Delbiaggio and Brandon Barnwell. Peterson and Hallis comprised the front row of the 25-lap main event and the two fought door-handle-to-door-handle the first several laps before Hallis was able to firmly take control of the top spot. Delbiaggio looked to be the best car on the track as he was able to dice through the field, moving by Peterson for the second position on lap 13. The field bunched up after a lap 18 spin by Marcelli. The restart allowed Delbiaggio to put some real pressure on Hallis. With two laps to go, Hallis and Delbiaggio got together coming off of turn two sending both sliding through the infield grass. This allowed Peterson to inherit the lead. On the last lap, Pries and Barnwell touched while racing for second going into the third turn. McDonald was able to get by both drivers to take second. Peterson was safely in front through and took the checkered flag over McDonald and Barnwell. Former real stock driver, Shawn Craig brought his car home in fourth in only his second sportsman main event while Pries was able to get going again to finish fifth.

David Henderson has made victory lane his personal home this season in the thunder roadster division and he was there once again after the trophy dash. Robert Miller, Mike Ward and Chris Sarvinski were the other drivers in the dash. Gary Payne won the first dash over Rob Nelson, Dan Browne, Belinda Ward and Jim Rich. The second dash saw the loss of two cars. Bruce Ziemer appeared to get loose going into turn one. As Ziemer slid down the track, he collected Sarvinski and Mike Ward. Both Ziemer and Sarvinski were finished for the night. In the end, Henderson won the heat over Miller.

Racing for the top spot in the 25-lap thunder roadster main event was fast and furious in the early going. Nelson and Browne fought tooth and nail for the top position. Nelson briefly took the lead before Payne was able to get by on the third lap. Mike Ward, Henderson and Miller fought hard amongst themselves for the second position before Henderson was able to take the position away on lap five. Miller was able to get by Ward on lap seven just as Henderson moved under Payne to take the lead. On lap 12, Miller moved under Payne for second in turn three but got tight in turn four, got into Payne and spun into the infield resulting in a caution flag. After the restart, the best racing proved to come from Miller who was moving his way through the field back to the front as quick as he could. On lap 23, Miller took third away from Mike Ward, but unfortunately for him that was as high as he would get. Henderson was able to more or less cruise to the win ahead of Payne, Miller, Ward and Nelson.

A reminder to fans, the scheduled June 13th event at Redwood Acres Raceway has been cancelled. Racing returns to the Acres on Friday June 26th and Saturday June 27th during the Redwood Acres Fair.

No comments: