Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Favorites yet to be determined in Acres points races

Favorites yet to be determined in Acres points races

By Matthew J. Sullivan

Much like the racing has been at Redwood Acres Raceway this season, the chase for the track championships in nearly all of the five local divisions are tight. Even after three races, there has yet to be a clear favorite to win the title in almost all of the classes.

The mini stock class has only participated in two of the three race dates in 2010. Because of the poor car count in the division, the mini stocks did not partake in the last race on May 8th. Currently Scott Baker leads the standings over rookie driver, Ken Barrett however whether or not the division will continue to race through the rest of the season has yet to be determined. The real stock points standings are tight amongst the top five drivers. Ryan Robinson leads with 200 points even over the duo of Shawn Craig and Ryan Robinson who have 195 points. Third is Casey Mitchell with 192 points, fourth is Nick Green 186 while Jim Redd lies fifth with 172 points.

Though Raleigh Willoughby has won the roadrunner main event in all three races this season, his points lead over Dax Kinsey is only 21 points, 221-200. Nick Hansen holds third with 186 while Jimmy Murray and Charlie Anderson are tied for fourth place with 178 points accumulated. In the thunder roadster class, Paul Peeples, Jr. holds a 25 point lead over Tommy Payne, 217 points to 192 points. Mike Ward is third with 180 points, Brandon Barnwell fourth with 171 and Bruce Ziemer fifth with 169. The tightest points race at the Acres thus far is in the sportsman division. Joe McDonald holds the lead with 197 points, but the gap between he and fifth place is only 13 points. Jerry Peterson lies second with 191 points followed by Angelo Marcelli with 190, Dennis DelBiaggio with 188 and Larry Pries with 184.

Racing at the Acres resumes this Saturday May 22nd. Joining the local divisions will be the Airport Auto Brokers Late Model series for the Scottfield Executive Hotels 75. The event will mark the third points race of the season for the AABLM cars and the first points race for the series at Redwood Acres Raceway. The AABLM held a non-points event last season at the Acres during the season finale Fall Spectacular. Noel McCormack, Jr. was able to score the win in that event.

Redwood Acres Raceway Points Standings

Mini Stocks
Scott Baker 127, Ken Barrett 118, Craig Baker 79, Robbie Robinson 57, Brian Murrell, Jr. 56, John Blake 11

Real Stocks
Ryan Robinson 200, Shawn Craig/Ryan Walters 195, Casey Mitchell 192, Nick Green 186, Jim Redd 172, Ronnie O’Neill 148, Wyatt Roach 125, Ray Middleton 111, Bill Middleton 57, Landon Newell 50

Raleigh Willoughby 221, Dax Kinsey 200, Nick Hansen 186, Jimmy Murray 178, Charlie Anderson 178, Robbie Nelson 157, Kolby Jackson 149, Dylan Cook 147, Kent/Carrie Campbell 146, Bill Snow/Ryan Walters 128, Dustin DelBiaggio 117, Eric Rice/Rick Crawley 117, Russell Robinson 60, Mark Benzinger 58

Thunder Roadsters
Paul Peeples, Jr. 217, Tommy Payne 192, Mike Ward 180, Brandon Barnwell 171, Bruce Ziemer 169, Chris Sarvinski 165, Belinda Ward 159, Jim Rich 147, Rob Nelson 143, David Henderson 122, Fergy Ferguson 117, Robert Miller 62, Jay Bahner 53.

Joe McDonald 197, Jerry Peterson 191, Angelo Marcelli 190, Dennis DelBiaggio 188, Larry Pries 184, Mic Moulton 178, Donnie Brown 161, Kenny Demello 156, Al Acuna 103.

No comments: