Monday, September 24, 2012

Redwood Acres Raceway’s 2012 season nearing its conclusion

Redwood Acres Raceway’s 2012 season nearing its conclusion

By Matthew J. Sullivan

This weekend marks the end of the 2012 season for racing at Eureka, California’s Redwood Acres Raceway the 25th straight year of pavement race on the 3/8-mile oval.  In what has become a Northern California tradition, the year will conclude this Friday, Saturday and Sunday (September 21st-23rd) with the Fall Spectacular.  Along with the local classes of cars and drivers from the real stocks, roadrunner and thunder roadster divisions will be the Airport Auto Brokers Late Model touring series along with the return of the IMCA modified open race.

The battle for Redwood Acres Raceway’s sportsman division concluded on the September 15th Larry Pries Memorial event as Brandon Barnwell sealed his 2012 track championship with a main event victory.  Barnwell’s 2012 crown marks his third championship in the sportsman division, his previous titles coming back-to-back in 2007 and 2008.  The title in the thunder roadster division has been sealed as well by Paul Peeples, Jr.  Peeples championship mirrors Barnwell’s run as he too previously won titles in the roadster class in 2007 and 2008.  Donnie Hyman appears to have the real stock track title well within reach as he has a nearly insurmountable margin of 93 points over second place, Dax Kinsey.  Things are closer in the roadrunner class as Michael “Cheeseburger” Lawrence has a 34 point gap over second place driver, Ken Barrett.

As previously mentioned, the 2012 Fall Spectacular marks the return of the very popular IMCA modified open race after a five-year absence.  Thomas Wright won the most recent running of the event in 2007 over Jay Linstroth, Richie Potts and Charlie Kramm.  The 2006 running saw Oregon veteran, Willie Thompson come across the line first ahead of Jerry Dubach, Scott Winters, Eddie Laws and Gary Lowblad.  The 2005 race was won by Jay Linstroth beating out Ken Scales, Willie Thompson, Richie Potts and David Sullivan.  The modifieds visited the Acres earlier this year in June with Guy Young taking the victory.

The AABLM series will be staging its ninth race of 2012 this weekend, the series’ third visit to the Acres on the year.  Randy Houston won the season opening race in May while Forrest Kuecker won his first ever AABLM event in the race in late July.  Howard Ford won both ends of a double-header in the 2011 running of the Fall Spectacular.  Jeremy Doss has been the dominant force in the series, scoring five wins this year but the young driver has yet to taste success thus far at Redwood Acres Raceway.  He’ll face top competition including Houston, David Miller, Jim Walker and another youngster in his teammate, Brandon White who won the AABLM’s last race at Shasta Speedway on September 15th.

Redwood Acres Raceway will have open practice on Friday for all cars and drivers beginning at 2:00PM followed by a barbeque.  Racing will begin Saturday at 6:00PM while Sunday’s events will begin at 1:00PM.  Any questions regarding this weekend’s races should be directed to the raceway by calling 707-442-3232.

Past Late Model Fall Spectacular Winners
1990 – Randy Olson
1991 – Bob Strauss
1992 – Randy Olson
1993 – Jeff Rogers
1994 – Roger Gannon
1995 – Darrell Midgley
1996 – Randy Olson
1997 – Randy Olson
1998 – Darrell Midgley
1999 – Mike Sackett
2000 – Mike Sackett
2001 – Mike Sackett
2003 – Mike Sackett
2004 – David Miller
2005 – Josh Bews
2006 – Ryan Foster
2007 – Howard Ford
2009 – Noel McCormack, Jr.
2010 – David Miller
2011 – Howard Ford/Howard Ford

No comments: