Monday, July 7, 2014

Lindstroth dominant in modified victory

Lindstroth dominant in modified victory

By Matthew J. Sullivan

Redwood Acres Raceway celebrated Independence Day weekend in style this past Saturday night. Not only did the Acres serve as host to the five local divisions of roadrunners, bombers, mini stocks, Thunder Roadsters and late models, the North State Modified Series made their second stop of the season at Eureka, California’s 3/8-mile paved oval. In addition to the fantastic racing, the night was capped off by a spectacular fireworks show that thrilled the large crowd in attendance.

Gary Klinetobe set fast time in the Humboldt Hydroponics roadrunner division with a 20.328 qualifying lap. Klinetobe followed that up with a victory in the four lap trophy dash. The first heat race went to Michael Lawrence who returned to the division due to his bomber being severely damaged several races ago. Dylan Ford took the second heat in thrilling fashion on the final lap.

The 15-lap feature for the roadrunners was slowed several times early on. One incident involved Kayla Foster who was sent head on into the back stretch wall. Foster’s car was finished for the night but she was unharmed. The story for the division this season has been the battle between Klinetobe and Eugene Palmer. Klinetobe moved to the front early while Palmer had to scrap through the field and wasn’t able to get to the front until the final two laps. At the checkered flag it was Klinetobe taking the win ahead of Palmer, Steve Kimberling, Tim Abeyta and Ford.

The John’s Used Cars and Wreckers bombers saw an influx of cars for the night as drivers from the Redding and Lake County areas made the trek to the Acres. David Dillinger set fast time with an 18.512 lap. Brian Smith took the trophy dash victory then was victorious in the heat race. Don Hyman led the feature early on but the out-of-town drivers made their strength known throughout the feature. Hyman did all he could to hold off Dillinger at the halfway point of the 20-lap main event but was unable to do so. Dillinger would go on to take the victory beating Smith, Leonard Ward, Eddie Klein and Kevin Coburn.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts/Del Reka Distributing mini stock class also saw several new cars join the field for the night. Visitor, David Felch set the standard in qualifying, beating all the local drivers with a 19.164 qualifying lap. Felch’s time in qualifying proved to be a prelude to how he would race in the evening as he won the trophy dash, the heat race and the main event. Brian Murrell, Jr. finished second while Rick Estes, Chelsea Champagne and Jordan Paiment rounded out the top five.

Robbie Nelson set fast time with a 17.187 qualifying lap for the Bear River Hotel and Casino Thunder Roadster division. The trophy dash win was taken by Paul Peeples, Jr. while Chris Sarvinski held off Peeples in the heat race. The 20-lap main event was highlighted by a nose-to-tail duel for the race lead between Sarvinski and Peeples. Coming off turn four on the final lap, Peeples found the inside line under Sarvinski and the two drag-raced to the line in a photo finish. Track officials determined that Sarvinski beat Peeples by a mere eight-thousandths of a second or about a foot. Thomas Payne finished third, Robbie Nelson fourth and Belinda Ward placed fifth.

Luke Hall set fast time for the Mid City Motor World late model division with a 15.938 qualification lap. The trophy dash victory was taken by Jerry Peterson who followed that up with a win in the heat race. The 25-lap feature saw a heated battle for the race lead between Hall, Mic Moulton and Peterson. Hall and Moulton were battling side-by-side for the lead coming off turn two on lap 13 when Hall got sideways into Moulton sending him spinning into the infield. Peterson got by in the melee but Hall got into his bumper going into the third turn. All three drivers restarted at the back which gave Al Acuna the race lead.

Acuna held onto the lead until four laps to go when the handling appeared to severely fall off on his car. Hall took advantage and quickly took the lead while Moulton and Peterson had to work slightly harder to get by Acuna. Moulton made one last effort to try to challenge Hall but it wasn’t enough in the end as Hall took the victory followed by Moulton, Peterson, Acuna and Ryun Leazer.

Citrus Heights racer, Jay Lindstroth broke the existing track record for the North State Modified Series with a 16.100 qualifying time. The Scubba Bub’s Dash for Cash went to Petaluma’s Richie Potts while the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash was taken by Linstroth. Both winners were awarded a crisp 100 dollar bill for their efforts.

Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah was the benefactor of the five-car invert for the 60-lap feature and used his pole position start to his advantage by taking the lead from the drop of the green flag. In second place was Cody Braund of Anderson who had his hands full with Lindstroth and Kelseyville’s Darrin Knight who won the North State Modified Series previous race at the Acres in May. The biggest accident of the race took place on lap 18 in the third turn.  Involved were Corey James of Cottonwood, Don Swartz of Grass Valley, Rich Cobb of Klamath Falls, Oregon and Orion Mosher of Eureka.

The restart proved to be the advantage that Linstroth needed as he powered by Tellstrom to the race lead. Knight moved into second in the closing stages and after a spin by Dustin DeRosier with 12 laps remaining, it looked to be a showdown between the front two cars. Linstroth got the advantage on the restart and was able to pull away from Knight. At the finish it was Linstroth winning over Knight, Tellstrom, Kyle Borden and Braund.

Racing at the Acres takes a break before returning Saturday July 19th. Grandstands open at 5:00 PM while racing begins at 6:30 PM. For more information involving Redwood Acres Raceway, please visit the track’s new and official website, . For more information concerning the North State Modified Series, visit

No comments: